Open main menu

Bulbapedia β

Talk:High Jump Kick (move)

"The user loses 1 HP for crashed damage."

Below the "Generation I" heading. Exactly what is that supposed to mean? And I don't mean that the user takes 1HP of damage. I mean that I don't see when/why the user would lose only 1HP. -- Socob ( Talk | Contribs ) 01:46, 20 May 2010 (UTC)


Why does the screenshot show Futachimaru and Shikijika when neither Pokemon learn the move legitimately? Shiramu Kuromu 20:11, 5 January 2011 (UTC)

Because it is Jump Kick in the image.----無限の知性DENNOUZENSHI 20:17, 5 January 2011 (UTC)

Recoil or Crash?

At the Gen V new description, it's saying that is recoil, but at other generations is crash, that means that the user is damaged when miss. Is crash or recoil?

Spanish name

Our Spanish wiki had the move at "Patada S. Alta", while the article's lang table says "Pat. S. Alta" (though our list of moves in other languages page has "Patada"). The Spanish wikia has "Patada," while Pokéxperto has "Pat." Did a change occur in one of the gens? Luna Tiger * the Arc Toraph 11:31, 16 August 2013 (UTC)

Reason for 1 HP miss/crash damage in Gen I

In a previous revision to this talk page (which was undone), Bbbbbbbbba said this about why High Jump Kick's crash damage (which happens when the move misses) is always 1 HP in Gen I:

This is probably due to a programming oversight. The crash damage is supposed to be 1/8 the original damage, which does get calculated beforehand. The problem is that the function to test whether a move hit also sets the damage to zero in case of a miss. Thus the crash damage should always be 0, except that a meta-rule of the pokemon game kicks in: "whenever you take a fraction of a number, the result is at least 1"

Can someone confirm that and add it to the page? Tiddlywinks (talk) 03:00, 31 March 2014 (UTC)

When used under Gravity

The article currently reads, "It cannot be used if Gravity is in effect." Does this mean it can't be selected at all (as though it were Disabled), or can it be selected and then fail? And if it's the latter, does the failure result in crash damage as other failures of the move do? The article would benefit from some clarity on this. I would test it myself, but I lack the means to contrive this scenario right now. Thanks yeyjordan 22:27, 4 January 2017 (UTC)

Edit: I have read the list of moves that "can't be used" when Gravity is in effect, but I still can't tell if that means they're "Disabled" or if they fail during the turn. yeyjordan 22:30, 4 January 2017 (UTC)
I know this is a bit late, but I did a quick check on that for you. At least in Sun and Moon, when the move is selected a message pops up saying "(Pokemon) can't use High Jump Kick because of gravity!" It's just like being disabled and no recoil damage is incurred. I hope this helped. Shadowkat777 (talk) 19:16, 17 August 2017 (UTC)
Return to "High Jump Kick (move)" page.