Nintendo Direct

From Bulbapedia, the community-driven Pokémon encyclopedia.
Jump to: navigation, search
Nintendo Direct
Nintendo Direct Logo.png
Nintendo Direct's logo.
Provider Nintendo
Launched 2011
Service provided Video streaming
Accessible by Internet (Nintendo, YouTube)
Nintendo 3DS series
Website Nintendo Direct
Nintendo Direct (Japan)

Nintendo Direct (Japanese: ニソテンドーダイレクト Nintendo Direct) is an online video service provided by Nintendo. It is billed as "A new online home for exclusive Nintendo news-broadcast directly to you, the player."[1] It provides a video service similar to the Nintendo Channel that is available for the Nintendo Wii and Nintendo Video that is available for the Nintendo 3DS. Many of the video presentations have also been uploaded to Nintendo's account on the website YouTube.

Pokémon Direct

January 2013

On December 29, 2012, a teaser was added to the end of a Pokémon Black 2 and White 2 commercial that revealed there would be a special announcement on January 8, 2013. On January 3, 2013, the international Pokémon websites posted a message to return to their respective site on January 8, 2013 for a special announcement.

On January 7, 2013, it was revealed that the announcement would be a special edition of Nintendo Direct, which would be named Pokémon Direct. It was also foretold that the announcement would be broadcast simultaneously around the world. The following day, Pokémon Direct was streamed, commencing at eight in the evening for Japan (8:00 pm JST), eleven in the morning in the United Kingdom (11:00 am GMT), and six in the morning for the east coast of the United States (6:00 am EST). It was presented by Satoru Iwata who began with the history of the franchise and was concluded with the reveal of Generation VI with two new games for the Nintendo 3DS, called Pokémon X and Y. A trailer was shown, introducing the three starters, Chespin, Froakie and Fennekin, snippets of both overworld and battle gameplay, and ending with the reveal of two legendary Pokémon, later revealed to be named Xerneas and Yveltal, respectively. In addition, Iwata also stated that, for the first time in the franchise's history, the games would be released simultaneously worldwide in October 2013.

Nintendo - Pokémon Direct 1.8.2013

By Nintendo
This video is not available on Bulbapedia; instead, you can watch the video on YouTube here.

September 2013

A second edition of Pokémon Direct was revealed on September 3, 2013 and aired the following day on September 4, 2013. Similarly to the first Pokémon Direct, it started at 4:00 am PDT, 7:00 am EDT, 12:00 pm BST, 1:00 pm CET, and 8:00 pm JST.

It revealed a new service called Pokémon Bank and an associated transfer service called Poké Transporter. Besides the aforementioned features, the opportunity of the player to receive one of the Kanto starters from Professor Sycamore was revealed, along with their respective Mega Evolutions (in Charizard's case, only Mega Charizard Y was revealed, though it was simply referred to as "Mega Charizard" at the time), and with the Mega Ring, an item associated with such evolutionary phenomena. The give-away of the main Kalos starters, on the other hand, was revealed to be made by Tierno, one of the player's friends. The release of two special Pokémon-themed editions of the Nintendo 3DS XL was announced for both the United States and Europe.

A new Pokémon, Furfrou, was also accidentally revealed for a split second, which is part of 15:18 on the official video from the Nintendo Direct website, and at 15:11 on Nintendo's YouTube upload.

Pokémon Direct 9.4.2013

By Nintendo
This video is not available on Bulbapedia; instead, you can watch the video on YouTube here.

February 2016

A third edition of Pokémon Direct was revealed on February 24, 2016 and aired on February 26, 2016 (North America) / February 27, 2016 (Japan), during the Pokémon 20th Anniversary. Unlike previous Pokémon Directs, this presentation was scheduled to start four hours later at 7:00 am PST, 10:00 am EST, 3:00 pm BST, 4:00 pm CET, and 12:00 midnight JST. The presentation was hosted by Tsunekazu Ishihara of The Pokémon Company. A retrospective trailer was broadcast, culminating in a developmental preview and the announcement of the Nintendo 3DS videogames Pokémon Sun and Moon. It was indicated that a worldwide holiday 2016 release was planned for the games. Additionally, the games of Pokémon Sun and Moon were also stated to incorporate playability in nine languages - the returning languages include Japanese, English, German, Spanish, French, Italian, and Korean from Pokémon X and Y, while Simplified Chinese and Traditional Chinese are set to make their debuts as language options.

The 2016 re-releases of Pokémon Pokémon Red, Blue, and Yellow on the Virtual Console platform were also reiterated. Subsequently, connectivity capabilities of handheld consoles were reviewed: the Game Boy's Link Cable, the Game Boy Advance's Wireless Adapter, and the worldwide Internet-based interactions of the Nintendo DS and the Nintendo 3DS. It was later revealed that Pokémon who originate from the Virtual Console variants of Pokémon Red, Blue, and Yellow Versions (as well as the Japanese editions of Pokémon Red, Green, and Blue, as mentioned in the Japanese broadcast[2]) will be able to be transferred to Pokémon Sun and Moon by way of Pokémon Bank.

Pokémon Direct 2.26.2016

By Nintendo
This video is not available on Bulbapedia; instead, you can watch the video on YouTube here.

Other Pokémon announcements


Pokémon Direct Logo.png
Pokémon Direct logo

External links


  1. Nintendo Direct
  2. Pokémon Direct 2016.2.27 プレゼンテーション映像